Coconut Granola

One of my goals for physical renewal was to start eating more healthily.  In particular to add one new recipe to my repertoire each week.  This new recipe was intended to replace something unhealthier which I had been eating.  The first area I decided to focus on was breakfast.  I’m not too unhealthy at breakfast – when I am working I always have Shredded Wheat with milk as it is easy, quick and portable to take to work.  On my days off I tend to have crumpets with lots of butter and jam! (Not so great, but fine as a treat.)  I have a traditional English fry up about once a fortnight on my weekend off.

I’m really into using coconut oil at the moment so this recipe was perfect.  I think most people are getting used to the new information that good fats are fine for you and that it is sugar which is the real issue.  This recipe sorts out both!  The majority of shop bought granola is full of sugar so this is a great way to enjoy a healthier granola and it tastes great.  It will really boost your energy levels and keep you fuller longer.

You can also use this granola as a crumble topping, and on top of yogurts or pancakes.

Serves 4

Ingredients:

60g coconut oil, melted

100g gluten free oats

50g chia seeds

1tsp ground ginger

1tsp ground cinnamon

50g pecan nuts

30g dessicated coconut

50g sultanas

50g big juicy raisins

40g hazelnuts 

30g pumpkin seeds

Preheat the oven to 140°c/275°f/gas mark 1.  Line a baking tray with baking parchment.

Place all the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl, add the melted coconut oil and stir well using a wooden spoon, until coated in the oil.  Tip onto the prepared tray, ensuring that the mixture is spread out evenly.

Bake in the oven for 50 minutes, stirring a couple of times to make sure it doesn’t stick and burn.  Remove from the oven and leave to cool for 10 minutes.

Variation:

For extra sweetness, add 1tsp lucuma powder to the granola mixture.  For a chocolate fix, add 30g cacao nibs.

You can serve this with almond milk.

I still allow myself a treat breakfast once a week.  So crumpets with butter and jam still remain and the fry up!

Leave a Reply

