Honey and Coconut Oil Cleanser

As part of my social/emotional renewal I learnt that before I could start improving my relationships with other people, I first had to improve my relationship with myself.  So today’s post is about how I have been improving my ability to give myself a little self care.

This is something I have found really difficult in the past.  Once you have children your own needs often are put on the back burner for a while.  I remember when my daughter was born, there were days when I barely slept the night before and times when I could go an entire day without eating or even peeing!  Once my post natel depression set in things got really bad.  Now, when it comes to self-care, I often feel quite guilty or selfish for taking time out for myself.

I’ve tried to tie in the self care I’m doing with things that interest me.  For example, I’m really into natural eating and using coconut oil at the moment so I thought I could extend this to my beauty products.  I already use mostly vegan, chemical free products but I thought it would be fun to start making my own – which is also much cheaper!

It turns out that coconut oil is fantastic for beauty products and can be used for so many different things.  Coconut oil is made up of 48% lauric acid (and one of the only other places you can find it is in breast-milk).  Lauric acid is fantastically healthy for you and it has antibacterial, antiviral and antifungal properties.  It is also very high in vitamin E.

The first product I decided to make was a Honey and Coconut Oil Cleanser. Here is the recipe.

(Makes 1 x 80ml or 3 fl. oz. jar)

The beauty of this Cleanser is that it’s gentle but still packs a punch by only containing three of the best antibacterial ingredients from the natural world:  coconut oil, honey, and lavender.

  • 50g (2oz / 5tbsp) coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tbsp raw honey
  • 5 drops lavender essential oil

Pour the coconut oil into a small mixing bowl.

Stir in the honey and lavender oil and combine thoroughly.

Leave to cool before using or transferring to a jar.

Use a dollop on dry skin morning and night.

Tip

Apply one layer of neat coconut oil (pea-size amount) to remove your make-up (really good for stubborn mascaras).  After wiping it away with a damp cotton pad, apply this cleanser in circular motions all over your face and neck, giving yourself a gentle massage as you go.  Use a warm, wet flannel to lift away the residue.

I have been using this Cleanser for about 3 weeks now and I have noticed a real difference in my skin.  It’s much smoother, softer and plumper.  I was initially worried about using oil on my skin as I already have oily skin but it has not been a problem as the product is so well absorbed.  It also smells good enough to eat!

2 thoughts on “Honey and Coconut Oil Cleanser

  1. elkelorraine says:

    Thanks for the recipe. I definitely agree on the importance on taking time out for oneself. I too went quite some time without pee’ing after the kids. hahaha. I love the blog. Very inspirational and it lends itself to self analyzing and meditation. I’ll continue to read through your posts. You have a new follower.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

